How can we help you?

What happens when I travel to the European Union now?

When driving your vehicle abroad now (during the Transition Period) your policy will provide you with comprehensive cover in the European Union for a total of 180 days during your policy year. No single trip can last longer than 90 days. If you exceed these limits your motor insurance provides the minimum cover required by law for each country when driving in the EU, EEA, Andorra, Serbia and Switzerland (listed below). You’re able to drive from the UK into these countries with no need to show any additional documentation to evidence that you have the required insurance. 

Countries where a Green Card isn’t required during the Transition Period:

EU Countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain & Sweden

EEA Countries not in the EU: Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway

Other Countries not requiring a Green Card during the Transition Period: Andorra, Serbia and Switzerland

If this article wasn't useful try searching again:
Couldn't find the answer you were looking for?
Contact us
Email is required!
Not valid email!
Something went wrong, please try again!
Email sent! Please allow a few minutes for the email to appear in your inbox.
Insurance is arranged by Aviva UK Digital Limited trading as Registered in England No. 09766150. Registered Office: St Helen's, 1 Undershaft, London EC3P 3DQ. Authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority.
Policies are underwritten and administered by Aviva Insurance Limited. Registered in Scotland, No. 2116. Registered Office: Pitheavlis, Perth PH2 0NH. Authorised by the Prudential Regulation Authority and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority and the Prudential Regulation Authority.